Little Happy Dances

IMG_3770Week # 5

Pounds lost this week: 4.8

Overall pounds lost: 26.4

Pounds to go to Goal #1: ZERO!!!

Pounds to go to Goal #2: 12

Overall pounds to go: 94

They say, the number on the scale doesn’t define you, it is just a number,  but let’s be honest, that number can set the tone for your entire day. If it’s less than expected, an obligatory happy dance ensues, if it’s higher than expected, everyone better watch out for the cranky train. Do I have an unhealthy relationship with Madame Scale? Probably. But, I also know I’m not alone. Is it a relationship I want to pass down for generations to come? No! Of course not! That’s why we are making healthy family life choices now!

Well, this week was full of little happy dances, it was exciting, and I felt like Madame Scale was somehow rewarding me for a job well done. Every morning I would get on, see a change and immediately started my little happy dance.  My activity level is still the same as it always has been, alternating running and Baby Boot Camp. The change was in the kitchen! I am finally on a roll of healthy eating, and it has clearly made all the difference! My ways in the Fat-Free Mommy kitchen may not work for everyone, but who am I to keep them from you… Here’s what I’ve been focusing on:

  • Small Frequent Meals – I eat a small higher protein snack about every 2 hours with a bigger meal for lunch. Based on the philosophy that if you keep feeding the fire pieces of good wood, you will keep the fire burning awesome flames. Same works for your body, don’t let your body get to the point of grumbling tummy noises before you eat again, keep the fire burning, but just make sure this doesn’t turn into some kind of grazing cow scenario.
  • So Long Sugar – Did you know that the American Heart Association recommends a limit of 20g of sugar per day for women and a limit of 30g per day for men? I dare you to take a look at the labels of what you are eating and calculate how many grams of sugar you are taking in! Excess sugar in your system cannot be used, and is converted into stored FAT! Even things that are labeled low-fat  or fat-free can be high in sugar which can make the fat in your body grow!
  • Bye Bye Bread… And Pasta – Breads and pastas and chips, oh my! They are a Fat-Free Mommy weakness for sure! If I had the type of self-control that would let me stop at a proper portion then these items may have been able to stick around, but the truth is, I am, at this point in life, unable. Being on the Gluten Free side of life helps me keep those temptations at bay. I would much rather get my carbohydrate calories from vegetables and fruits anyway, because you get to eat WAY MORE! Do I want a 1/2 cup of past or an entire half of a spaghetti squash? No brainier! Fill that plate with squash!!!
  • Hello Hydration – Water, water, and more water! 1/2 my body weight in ounces as a baseline to be exact! (Add in another 32oz per hour of sweaty exercise) We have all heard about how important hydration is when it comes to weight loss, or life in general really, and it’s absolutely true! If your body is even 1% dehydrated your systems, including your metabolism, will not work at their optimum levels!

So there you have it, all my secrets, which really aren’t secrets at all. Weight loss is all about paying attention to what and when you are fueling your body. When your body is given the right amounts of everything it needs, it will thank you, and so will Madame Scale, it really is that simple. So here’s to many happy dances to come, and maybe a little healthier relationship with Madame Scale.

XOXO,

Fat-Free Mommy

Leave a Reply

